Tags

Image

One of my favorite books that I stumbled upon and only paid 99 cents for was The Art of Life. The book took me by surprise.  It was a refreshing read and I found myself smiling the entire time.  And even though there were tense emotional parts, there were so many more that were happy, feel good parts.  

I especially enjoyed one of the main characters, Jeremy.  He was an absolute hero in every sense of the word and had me swooning at every scene.  I loved the unique story line.  Here is the excerpt from Amazon:

Jeremy is a devastatingly attractive 21 year old guy with a secret, who just has to walk into a room and flash his winning smile to melt a girl’s heart. Isabelle,”Izzy”, is a barely noticeable artist, whose home life is less than to be desired. She feels completely alone in the world, that is until the fateful day when Jeremy saves her from school tormentors and changes both their lives forever. Isabelle cannot believe her good fortune when Jeremy forms a friendship with her because nothing goes her way. After all, she is blatantly tormented by her peers, ignored by her school crush, has never been kissed, and her mother is an alcoholic. How could she ever have a relationship, even a friendship, with anyone, let alone someone so good looking and altruistic? Though, it’s not all good looks, good deeds and fast cars for Jeremy, whose past still haunts him. Can a horrific event that forces Isabelle out of her home and into Jeremy’s spare bedroom teach these two how to live and love?

I asked Sarah Kay Carter, the author a few questions.  Here’s what she had to say:

How did you come up with the title of The Art of Life?

Honestly, like many ideas, it just popped into my head.  I daydream a lot.  That’s where all my story ideas come from.  Except for the moment where Jeremy told Isabelle that he loved her.  That was a dream.  That’s what started their story.  Otherwise I think I have a muse, because this stuff comes out of nowhere.

Who is your favorite character in the book?

Jeremy by far, he was so much fun to write.  I have known some phenomenal guys and Jeremy is a combination of their awesomeness. 

How do you best share your books with others?

I started writing for therapy and fun.  I have always loved to write.  When I wrote in high school, I gave it out chapter by chapter to my classmates.  When I started writing again, I shared it with my best friend and husband.  Slowly, the numbers grew.  Finally, my husband was like, why don’t we put it on Amazon and see what happens.  I just wanted people to read it.  That’s why I made it .99 cents.  I only wanted to share it with people.  To my surprise lots of people read it and majority liked/loved it.

Were you ever told it couldn’t be done (writing novels)?

I started writing my first book in high school.  My boyfriend shot all my ideas down and was the opposite of supportive.  So, because he was my first love, I took his opinion to heart.  I only wrote when necessary for class.  It wasn’t until many years later that I found my old writing.  My husband and I were moving in together and he found an old box.  He pulled out a huge stack of papers and asked what they were.  I said my writing.  I told him all the old awesome memories I had of writing.  He told me I should try again.  So, I sat down and wrote my first book in three months.  You can accomplish anything with the right support!  Don’t ever let anyone to tell you that you can’t do something!  Unless it’s the police….you need to listen to them.

Do you have plans for a new book?

Writing is my life.  I have TOO many new book ideas.  I am writing four as of the moment.  My next book to be published is Shift.  It will be out by the end of the year.  It is a sci-fi/supernatural book for young adults.  Shift also has a sequel called Shiftless.  But, before Shiftless is released, I have another romance book but for new adults (college age).  It’s one of my favorite books that I have written, “Tear Down These Walls”.  About two people who are incredibly strong, but the walls around them are even stronger.

Do you prefer ebooks, paperbacks, or hardcover?

I love reading books in any book form.  I like having hard covers for my library.  I like soft covers to read in the bath.  And I carry my kindle around everywhere.  I am a book junkie.

Are you a self published (Indie) author?

Yes, I e-published “The Art of Life” through Amazon.

Who designed the cover of your book?

A wonderful graphic designer named Anmar Nevaraz.  She is based out of Las Vegas.

Where can your readers follow you?

I have a facebook page, twitter account and an Amazon author page.

Is your book in print, ebook, or both?

E-book for now.

What is the hardest part about writing books for you?

Having great ideas come to me when I am somewhere and nowhere near my computer.  I now carry a small notebook around with me.  Also coming up with character names, because I feel like the name should really match the personality, and when you are first coming up with a character, you really have to give it some thought.

What is your favorite part about being an author?

The biggest shock is how many people have read my book and loved it.  I have fans contact me from all over the world.  It’s mind blowing.  I adore every single one of them.  I love writing, it’s my soul language.  My favorite part of writing has to be having people enjoy it.  The money is nice, sure, but that’s not why I put my book out there.  I just want my readers to experience the worlds that I have created.

How do you react to a negative review?

This is a tough question.  My first couple truly negative reviews rocked my foundation.  Some were very…angry.  I am like…it’s just a book!  I took it really hard at first, but then someone suggested going to the reviews of some of my favorite best seller books and read their reviews.  I was astonished to see that they had some too.  So, you will always find people who don’t like it.  I know there are books I don’t like.  I concentrate on the reviews that say “The Art of Life” is one of the favorite books and that people really enjoyed it.  That keeps me writing.

And I hope she keeps writing because she’s awesome at it!  I hope you all enjoyed our interview and please go check out her books.  Plus, I happen to know that if you email her really sweetly after The Art of Life, she may email you an unpublished scene.  Her newest project is called Shift and you’ll want to check out that book as well!

Find more about Sarah and her books below:

FB page:   https://www.facebook.com/AuthorSarahKayCarter 
Goodreads Author Page:  https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7066235.Sarah_Carter 
Twitter: moonchildkay
Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/author/sarahkaycarter
Other: moonchildsarah@aol.com

Image

